Skip navigation

Okay, so today, I was entered into a debate about, of all things, Twilight. Oh boy…

It started because earlier today, I read an article (this one, in fact), and happened to mention it. The point it brings up about the movies/series that I found most interesting was its first point: that through Team Jacob’s epic (and later on, very creepy) loss to Team Edward, the Twilight series subtly implies that interracial relationships with non-Anglo-Saxons are wrong, evil, and will most likely lead directly to the apocalypse (all implied non-consciously by Ms. Meyers, I’m sure). Now, I just brought it up in conversation to mention that, of the myriad of anti-Twilight media I’ve seen, non have ever pointed out to me Twilight’s apparent stance on race. I mean, I thought I’d heard everything: Bella as the epitome of uncreative, idiotic, bland and pathetic protagonist; Edward as the ultimate creepy boyfriend; Meyer’s not-so-subtle uberMormon agenda; the horrendous implications about the intelligence of our society, judging by the overwhelming popularity of Twilight as a whole; the damn sparkly-ness. And yet, this was the first time I’d seen anyone ever bring up race. Whoa…

But I never got to bring up this particular point, because somehow, I got roped into a yelling match about how “it’s just ridiculous that people are drawing these absurd negativities about Twilight from nowhere! Why can’t everyone just leave it alone and just have fun with it?! I’m sure the books aren’t teaching everyone to be racist. Besides, one of the nicest, happiest, purest people we know leads her life very heavily based on religious ideals! So what’s exactly so wrong with instilling some old-fashioned morals into today’s generation?! I mean, all of today’s songs are all about objectifying women based on their Apple Bottom Jeans and ability to shake their booties! So isn’t it nice that girls are being taught that, despite all this liberal stuff floating around nowadays, it’s okay to wait until marriage to have sex, since, you know, some girls actually still want their first times to be special, and they might be deeply traumatized if it turns out to not be special?”

Okay, so there’s a lot of crap in there that I’ll just briefly address because, well, I want to respond to my argument-mate directly later on (she has a bit of a bad habit of not letting me make a complete point before interrupting me, so I get distracted and forget my original train of thought easily). Also, if I were to respond to all of that in-depth, I’m sure it would take be a loooong time, since most if it irks me at a level that I’m not sure I completely understand, and I don’t exactly have the concrete proof stored in my head (like divorce figures, the complete implications of “old morality”, and what the hell exactly happened in those damned books). So, here goes, real quick-like:

  1. Sex…really isn’t all that big of a deal. I don’t see what it should be, and why everyone get’s in such a tizzy about how special and intimate is has to be.
  2. Screw songs. So the dudes are all singing about objectifying women, but all the girls are all singing about being independent, and how they’re just as willing to objectify guys (except for Taylor Swift, but, you know…). So, in my eyes, that balances out.
  3. There’s a reason old-fashioned morals are considered outdated. They are repressive; they don’t allow anyone (even the men) to make any decisions that make them completely happy. Frankly, the reason the divorce rates are rising isn’t because marriages are getting unhappier, it’s because it’s becoming more and more acceptable for a couple to say “screw this, I refuse to put up with this, and deny myself true happiness anymore,” and not get judged for being defective human beings.
  4. Religion is relatively harmless, but left in the hands of idiots (as it sometimes has been), it is one of the most illogical creations of humankind, and I feel like it breeds more animosity and ignorance than any bonds of friendship and community it creates are worth.
  5. Just because I know one person who lives a happy life based off religion is, in no way, an endorsement of the lifestyle for the masses. To each their own, you know?
  6. Of course the books aren’t teaching anyone anything, except that should you run into a blood-drinking humanoid in the woods, only stay to chat if it has amber eyes. Remember, Amber is Amicable, but Red means RUN!!!! (Not that you could escape their superspeed anyway…)
  7. But see, they’re not absurd. Negative, yes, but firstly, they’re not drawn from nowhere; there are thought processes going into these. Secondly, any massive cultural phenomenon such as Twilight deserves to be analyzed in full for complete contemplation of the implications it poses on our society.

But, still, the above 7 points are mostly my opinion, and not fully valid as reasonable arguments on their own.

Now, see, what get’s to me the most is that, well, Twilight is a massively huge part of our present-day culture, and many people (mostly young females) are so obsessed with it that much of its hidden messages have probably been ingrained into their psyches, to have much effect on their behavior later in their lives. So, obviously, we should seek out what the “messages” are to try to understand what’s being communicated to the younger (and sometimes older) generation, just in case these “messages” could lead straight to the creation of a dystopia. I am of this though process because I have seen something similar before: I was a Harry Potter fan.

I read the book over, and over, and over again. I regularly visited websites devoted to announcing any details about upcoming books and movies, and obsessing over every intricate detail in essay format to try to determine future plots, analyse character motivations, and identify real-world inspirations used by the author. All of my playtime fantasies evolved to include my ability to manipulate magic (my regular viewings of Sabrina the Teenage Witch reruns also served to amplify this particular portion of my obsession). Clearly, Harry Potter had a much larger effect on my life than as “just some fun novels about a boy wizard’s fight against evil”. For all I know, despite my having lost interest in the release of the movies (let’s face it: aside from them being bad adaptations, they don’t do so hot as actual movies, either), Harry Potter continues to influence the decisions I make to this day.

So, what I’m curious about is, well, is there anything as horrendously wrong with Harry Potter that I simply didn’t see because I was too young and in love? Have I also been unknowingly indoctrinated with JK Rowling’s secret repressive/evil/anarchist agenda? And, also, for funsies, what are your thoughts on the whole Twilight debacle?

2 Comments

  1. Hi there,

    This is a message for the webmaster/admin here at lolathecoconut.wordpress.com.

    Can I use part of the information from this post right above if I give a backlink back to this site?

    Thanks,
    John

    • Hi, this was marked as spam, but just in case there is a real person on the other end of this, yeah, sure, feel free to use stuff from the post…just send me a link so I can see what you’ve done? Thanks.


Leave a Reply

